• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Constant Lagging In Premiere Pro Timeline (Latest Update 14.4)

Explorer ,
Oct 11, 2020 Oct 11, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I edit for a living so it is frustrating that any change in my timeline on Premiere Pro, it lags.  I have to constantly wait a few seconds with each change. Obviously, this isn't sustainable so any help would be REALLY appreciated. I have followed every youtube tutorial on the settings inside the software to make it run fast and nothing has helped. Today, I ran the task manager (shown below) and this is when I realized when I  play the timeline in the software, the memory shoots up to almost fall capacity, so I'm guessing this is the main problem... I need more RAM. I'm Just wondering if it could be anything else? Do I need an internal SSD storage, if so what for? Could it be the latest prem pro Update? What RAM should I get? Can my GPU be used more or not?

I run my files and profile files on my desktop

I deal with 1920x1080 footage and around 50-100gb at a time

Here are my PC specs:

AMD Ryzen 7 3700X Processor

RAM: 16 GB / Storage: 2 TB HDD & 512 GB SSD

Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super 8 GB

TOPICS
Editing , Freeze or hang , Hardware or GPU , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Explorer , Oct 13, 2020 Oct 13, 2020

@Michael Grenadier @Phillip Harvey @Ehfaz Zoha 

Tested out proxies last night and it worked like a treat thank you so much for all your help. Extra RAM is on its way soon too.