• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

FAQ: What's the difference between a Project and a Sequence?

Community Beginner ,
Oct 05, 2020 Oct 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I've never used premiere pro before and I am having to for a class.

My prof has instructed us to open up a new project, name it, then when it opens, to go up to the Sequence and choose Sequence > Sequence Settings. When I click on the Sequence menu, everything in the drop down, including sequence settings, is light gray and won't let me click on it to open it.

I just downloaded it, opened it up for the first time, and followed her instructions for creating the new project. It is literally step 2 and I am very confused. 

TOPICS
Error or problem , FAQ , How to , User interface or workspaces

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 05, 2020 Oct 05, 2020

There may be some confusion between what a Project is and what a Sequence is (potentially from your Professor), or they've simply left out a step or two.

If you create a new project, you won't even have a sequence until you create one. That's why Sequence Settings is greyed out. You don't have a Sequence yet. You can go to File>New>Sequence to create your sequence.

PhillipJoseph_0-1601937229203.png

OR click the New Item icon in the lower right of the Project Panel:

PhillipJoseph_1-1601937280012.png

It'll ask you to start it based on a preset. You can essential

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There may be some confusion between what a Project is and what a Sequence is (potentially from your Professor), or they've simply left out a step or two.