Highlighted

Getting Letterboxed Effect When Exporting

Community Beginner ,
Aug 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Everyone-

This is my first post ever on here, so if I am doing something wrong, please let me know. 

So I am new to Premiere, have done a bunch of tutorials and was recently putting together a sizzle for a friend. When I export my sequence, I cannot figure out why I am getting a letterboxed effect when my sources are not letterboxed. My video sources consist of a variety of formats, such as the following: 1920x1080, 960x540, and 640x360. I have also attached pics of the letterboxed image (top) and the source (bottom) as reference.

FWIW, I have Default Media Scaling set to None under Preferences/Media. I am not sure if this is why this is happening. Or is this an export settings issue? Anyways, I'm pretty lost, so thanks in advance for any help or advice!Screen Shot 2020-08-24 at 1.10.17 PM.pngScreen Shot 2020-08-24 at 1.12.14 PM.png

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by PhillipJoseph | Adobe Community Professional

In that last photo your Sequence and your Export settings match, yes. But the media inside the sequence (variable 1) does not. The media is obviously quite small - or already scaled down. Scale it up to fit the frame size of 1920x1080.

Here is a little graphic to convey the idea better when working with variable media:

Source_Sequence_Output.png

You can add any sized media in the sequence. Big, small, widescreen, square, whatever... it isn't all going to fit perfectly. Some things you'll need to scale up, some things you'll need to scale down, some things you'll need to crop the left and right, or the top and bottom.

The only way to not do any of that - and generally speaking your ideal Recording>Editing>Output situation is when they all match (or if your source media is larger than the sequence/output):

Source_Sequence_Output_Ideal.png

Topics

Editing, Export, Formats, How to

Views

Translate

Translate