• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

HEVC issue on one computer but no HEVC issue on another...

Explorer ,
Jul 20, 2021 Jul 20, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

So I have two computers (one a laptop, one a PC, which is a recent aquirement, both built with gaming in mind) 

I've been using the laptop for about 2 years now. I know that MKV isn't supported in Premiere Pro and so I'm well aware of remuxing a file to switch the container from MKV to MP4. I've done this a number of successful methods, and Premiere Pro on my laptop read it fine. 

However, those same remuxed files that work on my laptop don't seem to be readable on the Premiere Pro on my computer. And it's not in a usual way either.

There's no error recorded, nothing telling me I can't import the file. What's also strange is that it'll bring the file in and I can drag it to my timeline and if I have the video set to hidden, everything in Premiere Pro works fine and the audio plays perfectly well. However, if I turn the video back on and try to scrub through the timeline the display will freeze to one frame (usually black but I have gotten one frame from the file frozen before). The program won't freeze at first either, but gradually becomes things will start freezing (like the timeline head, or if I open the settings). I can even go as far as choosing to close the project or close the entire program and it'll prompt me if I want to save the file! Yes or no the program will then become completely unresponsive and through multiple clicks will frost over and ONLY THEN it'll tell me that Premiere Pro isn't responding.