• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How forgiving is the green screen for other different green shade?

Explorer ,
Jul 27, 2020 Jul 27, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm quite new to editing, I plan to do a green screen video with an object that is going to be all the time (would kill me to mask it manually, whatever this means) which color is far different from the "chroma key" green, but still green. It's a turquoise-mint-seafoam green, quite light/washed and noticeable different from the green screen's shade. The second problem is that the object is going to be directly surrounded by the green screen. I mean, it's not a green shade in the middle of another color object, it's an object which edge is going to be in contact with the green screen color.

Here are the colors:

Green screenGreen screenObjectObject

Is it going to be a huge problem?

Or as long as the green is not very similar, you can work it out easily?

I chose green screen because I read it's the brightest for cameras, the most professional and it's easy to use due to tech specs of the color. The other option is buying a blue screen, but I just bought the green screen to do this project, and I've read that blue requires more advanced lightning as it's harder to work with.

TOPICS
Effects and Titles

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 27, 2020 Jul 27, 2020

Blue screen would be ideal if your subject is going to be green. Honestly, any color would be good so long as it's not similar to the subject. Blue and Green are common because they aren't anything like skin tones/hair, etc., but in theory you can use any color as a key.