• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How Premiere uses RAM? Why I read it needs so much RAM?

Explorer ,
Jul 23, 2020 Jul 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, another quick question here. I've read that you need "plenty" of RAM for Adobe Premiere. I've read that you need 8GB of RAM for small non HD projects, and a minimum of 16GB of RAM if you want to do 1080 or 4K. These numbers sound to me incredibly high, but I'm no expert at Premiere. So, I tested it. Exported some 1080 footage, and noticed that the RAM barely got up to 5GB out of 8GB, that's the whole system, take like 2-2.5GB for Windows. I played back the video, added some effects, filters... never went to 6GB, and it had permission to use 95% of the RAM.

I pretend to edit 4K footage, may be at 60 fps in some ocassions, most of the time 24fps, and my main PC has 2x2GB RAM + 2x4GB RAM, total of 12GB in Dual Channel. I believe it's kind of overkill for what I want to do, but reading that you need 16GB made me ask this question here and check how true is that.

My question is... when is Premiere using so much RAM?

How can I force to use it so much?

I've done the basic things in a 2min 4K video and couldn't pass 6GB of RAM. I want to know why is needed and in which situations I need so much RAM, may be I'm not doing the few steps that you normally do in editing that eat so much RAM.

Thank you!

TOPICS
Editing , Hardware or GPU , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Jul 23, 2020 Jul 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good question, R.

Are you new to editing? First rule of our fight club:

There is no such thing as overkill when it comes to computer power for your NLE.