Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to remove unused part of video clip

Community Beginner ,
Mar 15, 2021 Mar 15, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey Guys,
I'm not using Premiere Pro very often, so this might be a total beginner question.

I have recorded myself creating art on the computer, and have lots of video clip, where some of them are over one hour long. What I mostly do is drag and drop one video clip directly into the "timeline" (not sure if that is the correct word). Then I set the speed to 800% and cut out the parts I want. Mostly not more than a few seconds.
The Problem is, that after doing that a while, the preview gets really laggy. I asume it's because Premiere somewhere stores the whole 1+ hour clips, while I'm just using a few seconds from it.
Is there a way I can remove the unused part of the video?
I've already tried to delete the unused media cache files, but this did not change much.

TOPICS
Editing , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 18, 2021 Mar 18, 2021

Check put this write-up of using the Consolidate & Transcode option in the Project Manager. It wil create a new folder with only the uses parts of your videofiles. After this you can archive/remove the original files to save space.

https://larryjordan.com/articles/premiere-pro-cc-understand-project-manager/

Votes

Translate

Translate
Enthusiast ,
Mar 15, 2021 Mar 15, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am suspect that your playback performance is laggy because of the parts of the video you are not using.  Based on the workflow you described, I suspect its laggy because your speeding it up by 800%.  This is make it laggy;