• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Metal not working on brand new Macbook. Bug, hardware issue, or something else?

Explorer ,
Dec 01, 2019 Dec 01, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm having issues with Premiere when set to use Metal. The image below hopefully explains it pretty well. When zooming into a clip (either program our source) while using Metal, the image does not render properly.

This is a new 16" Macbook Pro. I downloaded earlier versions of Premiere, and experienced the same issue.

It *seems" to me that things work fine with OpenCL (Haven't worked with it long enough to determine if performance is taking a hit). However with this being a brand new machine, I want to learn more about the issue while I'm still in that potential return window. As it turns out, I'm no expert in terms of graphics cards/computer hardware.

Questions I have are: Is this a bug that will be squashed down the line? Does it point to faulty hardware? It seems OpenCL is being deprecated, so I'm also concerned that I'm not getting the performance out of this machine that I paid a pretty penny for...

Screen Shot 2019-12-01 at 4.33.10 PM copy.png

TOPICS
Error or problem , Hardware or GPU , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

New Here , Mar 18, 2020 Mar 18, 2020

This Issues has been solved in lates premier pro upgrade.  14.0.3

Votes

Translate

Translate
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Just to provide some followup insight on this. I contacted Adobe support and we told that it was an issue with having an incompatable graphics card. The suggested solution: