Highlighted

Mixing Quickly in Premiere Pro - Advice for Experienced Avid User

Community Beginner ,
Aug 07, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm trying to move from Avid Media Composer to Premiere Pro for a job. As I've been working on Avid for 20 years, this involves a bit of a shift to the muscle memory.

I'm finding it in equal parts joyful and exasperating, butI don't mind the experiment as I'm finding I really do like some aspects of Premiere Pro. I especially love Extendscript as it opens some areas of automation - I only wish it could do more! I keep running into scenarios that simply aren't solvable through Extendscript.

I'm very keyboard centric in the way I cut, and I like to be able to edit by moving the mouse as little as possible. If I can avoid lasso selecting things and moving anything with the mouse I definitely will.

One action I can't get right in Premiere is adding audio fades and dissolves. I thought I could automate some of this with Extendscript, but CEP is hobbled when it comes to transitions. So I figured perhaps I'm just going about it in too Avid a way. Can someone help me find the right (meaning most keyboard efficient) solution to my day-to-day mixing activities on Premiere Pro?

Please skip to the Question/Challenge section if you don't want to read the preamble.

My Mixing Process

In Avid, I use audio transitions for Level Mixing and for Short audio transitions (softening hard audio edits). Here's a picture of a typical sequence in Avid for a fairly simple edit.

Timeline

Timeline%20ZoomScenario 1 - Level Mixing

In Avid, I mix my sequences using clip Levels and placing dissolves (transitions) on through-edits.

- I have a bit of music on A9/10 (or a bit of sync on A1-4) that needs to dip,

- I add a through edit on A9/10.

- go to the mixer to set the level after the cut.

- I move the cursor to where I want to start the level dip, fix the level in the mixer and

- Click Shift+3 which I've mapped to Fade to cut.