Exit

Mono audio clip only plays back on one side in source panel

New Here ,
Oct 09, 2017 Oct 09, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello there,

I am fairly new to Premiere Pro....

I have run into an issue that seemed to have just popped up 'overnight'.

When I play back video clips with mono audio tracks in the source monitor they only play back on one side...as soon as I move them into the timeline they play back with no issues (center). I have a feeling it's a simple setting somewhere.. maybe mono audio in the source panel has to be assigned to a stereo channel....I tried resetting Premiere to default settings by holding down the option key while launching which didn't solve the issue.

I tried to 'modify' a clip by choosing- 'audio channels' and changing 'clip channel format' from mono to stereo and that solved the issue on one clip (it now plays back in the center of the sound picture when I play back in the source panel) and in the 'modify clip' window I now see both a 'left' and a 'right' on Media Source Channel 1 .....but do I really have to do that to every clip? There must be a general setting I'm missing somewhere.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Yan

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

New Here , Jul 27, 2020 Jul 27, 2020

Hey there,

I've had the same problem. And after hours and hours of frustration and internet searching, I found the solution for my situation:
I must have accidentally pressed one of the solo buttons on the Audio Meters Window while being in Source Monitor Mode.

Simple solution, but took me far to long to notice... I always keep the meters very small, so I didn't notice the mistake. Maybe this helps your situation as well...

All the best

Cheers

Right channel soloedRight channel soloed