• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Not clear on which GPU Pr/Ae use

Explorer ,
Jul 30, 2020 Jul 30, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am fairly new to Adobe Pr and Ae, and would like to better understand how it is utilizing the GPUs in my computer.

I have a laptop with Intel Integrated HD Graphics (8GB Shared Memory), and a discrete nVidia GeForce GTX 1650 Ti with Max-Q and 4GB RAM.

In Premiere, under Project Settings - General, I have selected Mercury Playback Engine GPU Accleraction (CUDA), and in After Effects, under Preferences - Previews, clicking the GPU Information button lists the NVidia card.

For the most part, when I am playing back or rendering, I can see activity on the NVidia GPU.  Playback is smooth, and rendering is fast.

Occasionally, when I have added certain effects, such as transition effects, I notice that it is playing along smoothly, until after it passes the transition effect.  At which point, the NVidia GPU activity drops to zero, and the Intel increases significantly.  Playback is choppy (or won't play at all).  I've also noticed that when i added Grain Removal in Ae, and then rendered the clip back in Pr, it is using the Intel chip to render, and it takes a very long time.

So my question is, why isn't the NVidia GPU being used all the time for these operations, which it is clearly much better at?  Why does Pr switch between the two GPUs?

Thanks,

-M

TOPICS
Hardware or GPU , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,
Jul 30, 2020 Jul 30, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Keep in mind the iGPU should only encode and decode H.264/265. The graphics card GPU should handle all the effects.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines