• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Performance issues with Premiere Pro on powerful PC

New Here ,
Feb 19, 2021 Feb 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a freelance video editor who edits very time-sensitive videos on a daily basis.  Because of this, I needed a PC that would edit whatever I threw at it without issue.  This is why I have an AMD Ryzen 9 3950x processor, 48 GB of ram, a 2080 super graphics card, and an NVME SSD that I import and export video files from.

And yet, despite this, my 5-year-old laptop with an Intel processor and a GTX 960 graphics card is able to edit better.  When editing on the new PC, there is a significant delay between when I press the space bar to play the video and when it actually starts playing, and it's even worse for pausing.  This slows me down significantly, and as I said, the videos I edit are very time-sensitive.

This happens even at 1/4 resolution when the laptop edits more efficiently at 1/2.  I'm aware that pre-rendering the timeline or creating proxy files is a way to get around this, but the footage I'm editing from is an hour and a half to two hours in length, and even low-quality proxies take 30-40 minutes to render it.  Again, time-sensitive video.  I've put way too much time and effort into building this PC for it to not do even basic editing on 720p footage properly.

I read the other forum where a user had a similar issue, and yes, the video files are encoded in H.264, and I understand that the AMD processor doesn't support Intel Quick Sync, but it's a 16-core processor, and Premiere barely even pushes it past 2% use.  There has to be something that can be done about it without having to replace the entire processor and motherboard.

TOPICS
Editing , Freeze or hang , Hardware or GPU , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more