• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Playback - big problems!

New Here ,
Sep 20, 2020 Sep 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am completely new to Premiere, and also just getting started with a new computer. The 45-second sequence I have edited so far is playing back missing frames, juddering etc etc during the shots that have effects applied. Impossible to get a realistic feel of how the piece is flowing.  The effects are pretty basic - such as  reverse motion - but nothing too exacting, I'd have thought.

The line above the timeline is yellow and I've set Playback Resolution in the Program Monitor to 1/4.

Why is this please?  Am I missing something or is the spec of my computer not up to the job?

Processor is a AMD Ryzen 7 eight-core CPU 3.9GHz - 4.5GHz/36MB

RAM is 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000MHz

Graphics Card is 6GB Nvidia Geforce RTX 2060

Media is on a 1TB Samsung SSD

Any assistance woulds be most welcome!

Tim

TOPICS
Editing , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The media you're using is crucial, especially if you're reversing the play of a clip. If that's long-GOP media, as most H264/mp4 and some mov are, I would expect potential issues.

So ... what's the media, and what exactly are you doing in the sequence?

Neil

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Sep 27, 2020 Sep 27, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The media codec is  mp42 (mp42/avc1)

What I'm doing is reversing one clip, and a section with two video layers. Each time PP struggles to play the sections - missing chunks, juddering etc etc.