Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Premiere Pro Extensions - To UXP or not to UXP

Explorer ,
Jul 30, 2020 Jul 30, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all, 

Skip the preamble if you'd like and just jump to the question....

PREAMBLE

I'm a long-time Avid editor, but have just been asked to cut my next project on Premiere Pro. I was initially resistant, fearing the effort required both to re-map muscle memory and missing features between products. For the past few days, I've been digging into PPRO and have found it's not the software I once tried briefly in 2003! In fact, it's got something amazing that Avid doesn't have: AUTOMATION. Wow! This might convert me to Premiere long-term!

I've been hacking automation in the Avid for years now, writing horribly hacky global keyhooks and mimicking keyboard and mouse movements to automate repetitive tasks that you can't keymap in Avid. It's pretty janky, and just to be able to have an API to do repetitive stuff would change my editing life. I've been using the 3d modelling software, Blender, quite a bit recently, and I just love the way you can type a bit of Python and pretty much automate anything in the interface. If I had this level of automation in an editing package, I genuinely think I could save myself hours a week, and a great deal of unnecessary mouse faffing,

Now I'm trying to write some polyfill automations for Premiere to make my migration from Avid a bit more pleasant.Using CEP and Extendscript, I've successfully implemented:

• Set audio mix level in-out (based on what's under the cursor)
  • Set pan in-out (on selected tracks)
  • Create subsequence from in-out selection and load it in source (Ctrl+Alt+C in Avid - I thought I was going to really miss this one).
  • Add filler between all clips (probably just me, but I do pulls and I like a second of black between things. Just feels neater)
  • Load filler (or load black video in PPRO speak). 

I'm planning to implement: