Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Proxy wrong ratio compared to original footage using Media Encoder

Community Beginner ,
Apr 07, 2021 Apr 07, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone,

For days I've been trying to resolve that problem but I haven't found anything that could help me.

I need to make proxies since my computer is not really made for editing. I've created my own preset in Media Encoder for a film which is 1920x808, I chose the Quicktime format and Cineform as the video codec. I change the width and height to 480x202 to have a very light proxy, but it doesn't matter what I do, the proxy comes out with a reduced height, the black stripes are way larger than on the original file.
I've read many things but nothing that has helped me and I'm running out of ideas. I'm a newbie so it is possible the solution is right before my eyes but I can't think of anything.
Any of you guys has an idea to resolve this ?

Thanks a lot

TOPICS
Editing , Formats

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Some of the codecs have restrictions on how the proportions have to be figured. So that say all dimensions have to be divisible by 4 or 8 or something. Are you actually getting a precise 480x202 framesize? Check the Properties for the clip.

Neil

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you Neil for your response.

Well I notice now that in Properties the original footage is 1980x808 and the Proxy 480x270.