• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Question About Previews

Engaged ,
May 25, 2021 May 25, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using Premiere Pro for over 15 years at this point, but I've never had great success with Preview files actually speeding up rendering. A couple years ago someone told me to switch my Previews codec to GoPro CineForm (YUV 10-bit) and then the final render would go faster if I used previews. That did seem to sometimes make a difference when exporting h.264 files.

Right now, I have a long video (2.5 hrs) that has lots of clips with Neat Video's Reduce Noise v5.1.0 plugin applied. These are 10-bit 4K clips from a Panasonic Lumix GH5 and Reduce Noise typically takes a while to render, so I rendered the entire timeline overnight to save myself time in the long run since I have to render it out for web, Blu-ray, and DVD. When I go to render out the timeline that now is showing all green across the whole thing, I choose "Use Previews" and I don't select "Use Maximum Render Quality", I notice that when it gets to the clips with the Reduce Noise effect, it's taking just as long to render those clips as it did to render the preview files. So, basically, it's re-rendering all of the clips with Reduce Noise on them that I've already rendered as previews. 

What am I doing wrong?

System Specs:

Windows 10 64-bit

64GB Ram

AMD Ryzen 3900X 12-core

RTX 2060

NVME 2TB system drive

NVME 1TB project drive 

TOPICS
Editing , Export , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

@Kevin-Monahan would be able to give the best insight on this.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines