• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Quick beginners question about mixed fps.

New Here ,
Sep 11, 2020 Sep 11, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Im not sure exactly how to ask this question without a bit of explanation, so searching first didn't help much. I'm relatively new to video editing and creation, so forgive me in advance...

I'm starting to make video game videos for youtube and was wondering if there was a simple way to combine 24fps " talking head" shots with 60fps gameplay in a way that when I'm on screen talking it looks very cinematic like the 24fps travel doc style stuff, but when gameplay is featured it looks like high quality capture 60 fps pc gameplay. 

Thanks in advance, and again my apologies if I haven't explained myself well.

TOPICS
Editing

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you start with a 60fps sequence and drop your 24 fps footage into it, although it will be displayed at 60 frames per second it still is only 24 discrete pictures per second ... it's just that each of those 24fps are displayed twice (or 3 times) in that second. You won't necessarily lose the cinematic look of 24fps material.

Think of it this way. When you've watched a movie (24fps) on broadcast TV you were actually watching it at 59.94 interlaced images per second (50 in PAL countries) ... but it still looked like a movie and retained that 24fps 'look' right?