• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

SRT file not reading

New Here ,
May 04, 2021 May 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Everyone, I need some help getting an srt file to show up properly on my video. It looks fine but as soon as I hit play it only shows about three seconds of closed captions. I am brand new to premiere pro so i've been trying to youtube a solution for this but i'm pretty lost on how to make this work. It looks like my biggest issue is the caption file is in source preview (the lock icon)? I downloaded the srt file from facebook because this is a pretty lengthy video,  the srt file I have input here is the first four minutes  (surprisingly no issues with the rest of the CC that I had to download separately ) All suggestions welcome!

Screenshot (71)_LI.jpgScreenshot (73).png

TOPICS
Editing , Formats , How to , Import

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
May 05, 2021 May 05, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You probably imported the srt through the Media Browser or draggin to the Project Panel. That does not associate it with a sequence. Is it the file used to create the captions on the timeline?

In any event, you can avoid the lock by creating your sequence, then open the Text (captions) Panel, and use the "Import captions from file" button to import the srt. It will prompt you for the type of caption stream.

You do not have closed captions; you have a "subtitle" stream. That should not cause any problem - it depends on your final product as to what you need.

It is not good subtitling practice to put so much text on the screen at once (your 6 lines on the screen for 3 seconds). If you are typing these or copy/pasting them, use the new caption button to add a new caption segment for each 2 lines.