• EspaƱol
      • FranƧais
      • PortuguĆŖs
  • ę—„ęœ¬čŖžć‚³ćƒŸćƒ„ćƒ‹ćƒ†ć‚£
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • ķ•œźµ­ ģ»¤ė®¤ė‹ˆķ‹°
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Strange VHS Video Aspect Ratio Issues While Editing. Need 4:3, Help!

New Here ,
Feb 13, 2021 Feb 13, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can you guide me through this conundrum? Bear with me, I'm still a self taught noob!

So, I'm cutting trailers and releasing a shot on video SOV cable access TV series from 1996. After encoding the analog master tapes and DVD's from the director, I created a sequence and started dropping the clips in and editing the trailer of the footage in my timeline. Everything looks 4:3 in the Program workspace, nothing looks stretched or squished. Hunky dory, right?

SO, I created a second sequence to start editing the second trailer, BUT everytime I drop in a clip from the project area, I get a message that says "This clip does not match the sequence settings" and asks if I want to "change sequence to match the clips settings?" huh? I don't know what to say, because I *thought* the sequence was preset to DV- NTSC Standard 48 kHZ with a 4:3 aspect ratio, which what I selected in the sequences presets. So, I go back to my first trailer doubting my sanity and sure enough, the aspect ratio is 710 x 478. Isn't typical video aspect ratio suppposed to be 4:3 or 640 x 480? I think that might be what the footage came as? But, I just don't know why or understand what it'll do to my final trailer. So, my question is, how can I be sure that everything is 4:3 in export, and how can I set up my sequences in the future to be 4:3 right off the bat? I reallllly don't want to re-cut my trailer. It took two days. I'd love to be able to fix each it in the timeline and just prevent it from happening in the future.