Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

VIDEO LAGGING HELP PLEASE (BEGINNER)

New Here ,
Jun 16, 2021 Jun 16, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey everyone!

This has been so frustrating! I have began to create a video and it's lagging so much that I am unable to edit my clips. I'm not sure if it's something I'm just missing because I am a beginner or what, because I've tried rendering, viewing playback lower quality, deleting old media caches, etc. It's still so slow that it's not working at all. Every time I close and reopen Premiere Pro it works well twice over before turning awful again. I'm editing from a Macbook Air, all my media I'm editing from a Lacie hardrive. 

Before putting my video together, I edited and cropped all the pieces of footage I wanted to use and they're somewhere in the timeline, and there's quite a few. Could this be the issue? Should I just restart? 

Thanks so much,

Julia

TOPICS
Crash , Editing , Freeze or hang , Hardware or GPU , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Which camera is the footage from, Julia? If it's H.264, or HEVC footage (and it usually is with this common complaint), this is difficult for any computer to edit.

What most editors do is make copies of the footage in a process called "transcoding." Then, use the copies of the clips instead of the originals (which you can archive).