• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why does Premiere Pro inflate file size?

New Here ,
Jul 13, 2018 Jul 13, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I'm a complete novice to Adobe and need help exporting a simple low-quality video edit in a reasonable file size.

I ran a webinar using GoTo Webinar and export a file. I have edited this in Premiere Pro but when I go to export it inflates the file size dramatically!

Obviously doing something wrong but Mr Google is not helping with my specific problem.

I need help with selecting the right export settings. All I want to do is upload it to YouTube so it shouldn't be that hard but the vast array of options has defeated me.

I have version 12.1.1 Build 10

The input file was generated automatically by a GoTo Webinar session. It was just voice over powerpoint. Nothing special. Specs of the GoTo video were:

• 106MB
  • MP4 File .mp4
  • 1920x1080
  • Frame rate 7.62 frames/sec
  • Data rate 104kbps
  • Total bitrate 166kpbs
  • Audio bitrate 61kpbs
  • Channels 1 mono
  • Audio sample rate 16.000khz

In the editing, I added some jpeg images and a .mp3 music file about 3.25MB in size.

When I went to export this I tried the following: In File/Export>Media I selected:

• Format H 264
  • Preset: YouTube 1080p HD
  • Under Video, I select the lowest possible framerate = 10
  • Under Bitrate Settings, I chose Bitrate Encoding of VBR 1 Pass

The Estimated file size now says 6720MB !!

After googling I set the Bitrate Settings > Target Bitrate to 1 which was not recommended but I'm desperate to get the file size down as I dont have a great internet connection! This reduced output file size to 543MB. I manged to upload this to YouTube but it took me 4 hours, during which time, I could barely use my internet....