• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Jittery editing in Rush / High CPU usage (desktop)

Community Beginner ,
Jan 30, 2020 Jan 30, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Rush. When editing a set of 4K 30fps clips on my desktop I constantly get jittery / frozen playback when editing. I've noticed that this happens only during high CPU usage.  Jumping forwards, backwards and rewinding triggers the high CPU usage. Even stepping forward/backwards frame by frame several times will trigger high CPU.  If I wait until the CPU usage drops to zero, I can make a few edits before high CPU starts again.  But there is a lot of waiting. Exported video playback is just fine.

The only suggestion I've seen here is to set preview quality to low which I've done.

I'm using a Windows 10 desktop. It's a powerful computer: Intel Xeon, dual-processor,  6 physical cores per CPU, hyperthreading, so 24 logical processors. Quad channel memory.  I have a decent but not super-powerful graphics card. Rush does not seem to make any use of the graphics card, and uses less than half of the PC's RAM.

I know 4K is demanding, but I don't see how it would be possible to edit at all on a phone, tablet or slower PC. Am I missing something?

TOPICS
Desktop version , Hardware or GPU , Performance , Preview

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there!

Thank you for reaching out. I understand that you're having trouble with the playback in Premiere Rush.

Let us know, we're here to help.

Thanks,

Kartika

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines