• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Imported Word Document Not Resulting in any Pagination/Topics

Contributor ,
Dec 08, 2016 Dec 08, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a simple test project that I'm creating with an imported Word document (also a simple document - 40 odd pages). I've done this in order to try to troubleshoot why the import isn't correctly creating new topics based on my "Heading 2" pagination setting.

I've come to this (I'm new to RoboHelp) after my first importation attempt created only a single new (top-level) topic. In this case the entire content of the the document was put inside this top-level topic. I finally read enough to find out how RH does pagination/new topic creation on import and so I went ahead and set this in the import Conversion Settings dialog:

RHHeading2Pagination.png

However, after running the import again (in a brand new project) I see that there is still only a single resulting topic. TOC, index, etc are all created correctly, but not the topic pagination aspect. Generating the Responsive HTML5 output confirms this since search only ever returns a single result (since everything is contained within a single topic).

What am I doing wrong??

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Dec 08, 2016 Dec 08, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there

You may not be doing anything wrong. Often we encounter Word documents where the Word user has no clue whatsoever of how to properly apply styling such as Heading levels. Have you opened the document and ensured that each place where you would hope to see a new topic created that it is formatted as a Heading Two in Word before you import?

Cheers... Rick

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines