Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Retrieve multiple context-sensitive topics from responsive HTML

Explorer ,
Jul 11, 2017 Jul 11, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm a first time poster and am currently evaluating RoboHelp 2017 for my company. I am completely new to context-sensitive help and this is my first experience with it, but as the only Technical Writer in our company, I am responsible for creating a concept and choosing the right tool for our needs.

We are planning on implementing a context-sensitive help for our newest web application, which should suggest multiple helpful topics to the user of our web application directly within our UI (with links to the fully responsive HTML5 output "Help Center" from RoboHelp).

It would be similar to what Facebook is doing with their context-sensitive help (where, depending on where on Facebook you are, you get different suggested topics directly in the Facebook UI).

Could this somehow be accomplished with the RoboHelp API? Or is it really only possible to call one specific help topic for each context? This would be a huge programming overhead and not really an option for us.

What additional development effort would be needed to build on top of the RoboHelp API to retrieve multiple topics for each context? (e.g. to display the topic titles + links to the respective topic in the Help output)?

Suggestions are highly appreciated.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 11, 2017 Jul 11, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes, it's entirely possible - search for "context sensitive help" (CSH) - see Willam's topics on the subject - https://www.wvanweelden.eu/article-category/context-sensitivity 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines