• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Robohelp project missing the .xpj file

New Here ,
Feb 18, 2020 Feb 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm new to RoboHelp. Our company is working with RH 2017.  I am being asked to update the help files after the previous developer left. However, I do not see any RoboHelp project files (*.xpj, *.mpj, *.hhp, *.hlp or *.hpj) that would allow me to open the entire project.

I dont seem to find any other way to open the project.

Sorry for the trivial question but as I have very limited knowledge of RH, I'm not sure where to begin.

Any help is highly appreciated!

Thanks!

TOPICS
Classic

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you don't have an xpj file, then you probably only have the output files, not the source files.

Do your best to find the source files as this will save you a lot of headaches.  Here are some places to look:

• Source control. TFS, GIT, SVN. Perhaps you can find the source project in source control.
  • Original developer's computer.  Check in their Documents folder for a My Robohelp Projects folder (you'll need an admin account to access this I think). Or they might have a folder directly off C: that they created - look for help, robohelp or a folder that matches the project name (If there's a log file, that file name is probably the project name). You can also just search all of c: for *.xpj.
  • If they left notes or a style guide, that might give a clue if the project is on a network drive. Perhaps a co-worker knows which network folders they typically used?