• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Autonumber Topics in the TOC

Explorer ,
Dec 19, 2016 Dec 19, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How can I autonumber the TOC entries within a given book?

I'm new to RoboHelp, am running RoboHelp 2015.

I'm listing steps in a process.

Example:

Step 1:  Get out some bread

Step 2:  Open the peanut butter

Step 3:  Apply peanut butter to bread

I've figured out how to apply multi-level list to the headings on the topic pages. So on each topic page, I've successfully formatted autonumbered headings on the topic page.

But in the Table of Contents, I have only:

Get out some bread.

Open the peanut butter.

Apply peanut butter to bread.

How do I have the TOC entries themselves autonumbered?

Thanks much!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there

Unfortunately there simply isn't a clean and easy way to click a button and poof! The TOC entries are numbered.

You have choices.

1. You are able to freely right-click a TOC element and change its name to what you want.

2. If you change the Title of the topic in the Topic Properties to something like Step 1. Get out some bread, the TOC will then update to show exactly the Topic Title if you click and drag the topic to the TOC or if you use the auto-create tool.

Maybe one of these works for you?

Cheers... Rick

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

One strategy would be to create a variable for each step and then to set the Topic Title to use the appropriate variable on the Topic Properties window.