• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Conditional Build Tags: What is the difference between TOC, Topic, and Content-level CBT? Best practices?

New Here ,
Apr 01, 2016 Apr 01, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. I am new to RH and we are attempting to use CBTs to identify which user groups will have access to certain online help. I understand the purpose of applying CBTs at the Topic or Content-level, but when attempting to applying CBTs at the Topic level, I was also given the option to add it to the TOC.  Can someone explain why I would apply it at both levels the TOC and Topic level?  Are there any GOOD resources out there that explain CBTs better? Everything I find just says "apply the CBT" which is frustrating!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Apr 01, 2016 Apr 01, 2016

Hi there

When you apply a CBT, you most often do it in order to "leave out" information that doesn't apply to a certain build of the output. Your post seems to suggest you have this basic understanding. And at the Topic level, tagging words or images will cause them to be removed when you apply and later exclude a tag.

As you have said, a tag can also be applied to the topic itself. And if you do that, the entire topic is removed when you generate using the build expression that excludes it. If th

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there