• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Context sensitive help for Visual Basic 6

Explorer ,
Nov 15, 2016 Nov 15, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using Robohelp 2015 (of late) to maintain the help files on a VB6 app. I generate a CHM file, the forms in the app have context IDs, and the F1 key "just works" with VB6 in calling up the correct page.

We are currently researching the possibility of moving over to a web-based-help solution using something like Responsive HTML5 (or similar - not committed to that particular flavour). I am getting pushback from the developers who are suggesting that VB6 is unable to handle F1 with help formats other than .hlp and .chm - is this true?

It is not practical to revisit every form in our app (it's huge). The forms have their context ID and that's all they're ever going to have. I'm not a developer although I have some developement experience. We are willing to write some code to redirect the F1 to the new help as long as it's central; the problem I have at the moment is that the lead developer is saying it can't be done.

Has anyone got anything I can go back to the dev team with that shows this to be a viable proposition?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How are the devs calling the help? For WebHelp/Responsive HTML5, you normally just open a URL with some parameters. Depending on how the CHM is linked to the application, it is a simple change in the call.

If you are using context id's, those will be retained when you move to another system. Only the call will be updated. As long as your application can open a browser or URL, they can open help through F1.