• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Do I need an internet connection for HTML5?

Contributor ,
Jan 04, 2017 Jan 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

My doubt is if I can view content in HTML5 when I'm not connected to the internet.

In the IT company where I work for, we are currently using Microsoft HTML Help (CHM files) for creating helps to the software we develop here.

The problem is that microsoft compiled help will not have any new feature. So we were thinking about changing our helps to HTML5 layout. Also because it is responsive, we would like to use the dynamic content filtering, for many reasons.

However, our doubt is if our customer does not have connection to internet, will he/she be able to access the software help by clicking F1?

I am not a programmer, I am only a technical writer, maybe they know how to fix it (or they will figure out), but before I would like to know: Is it possible?

Thanks in advance! I am from Brazil, but I hope you have understood me. Sorry If I commited any mistake.

TOPICS
Classic

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 04, 2017 Jan 04, 2017

Short answer is no - you don't need an Internet connection to view HTML5 help - but you do need an Internet browser like Edge, Internet Explorer, FireFox or Chrome to view the index page of the collection of files that RH will create for you. Depending on how you have your software installed, your help may be packaged along with it and installed in the same location. For example, one of the products my company produces is a client/server application and the software is installed in a shared fold

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,