Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Monospace fonts in RoboHelp

Community Beginner ,
Mar 23, 2016 Mar 23, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm somewhat new to RoboHelp and I need your help in managing monospace fonts and different types of fixed spaces in code samples.

To be more specific: I have several code lines that display wonderful in FrameMaker 10 when set in a monospace font, such as Courier New or Lucida Console, as you can see below:

01_Frame.jpg

However, as soon as I import them in RoboHelp 9.0.1.262, it looks like the the fixed character width miraculously vanishes and no matter what other monospace font I use, the result is pretty much the same, i.e. the lines (and "faux columns") are no longer aligned:

02_RH.jpg

I tried using the Frame object via Insert > HTML > Frame > Frame, but the result is exactly the same.

Moreover, when I try to tweak the space amount by replacing the regular blank "&#160" with (fixed) en-dash spaces " " or hairspaces " " in the HTML source, as shown below

03_HTML_Code.jpg

it looks like RH is not able to recognize the codes:

04_HTML_Output.jpg

So, did anyone face a similar challenge? Any idea about how to fix this would be more than welcome!

Thanks,

Razvan

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Mar 24, 2016 Mar 24, 2016

Amebr,

Thanks for the tip! I've found something even better - the <pre> tag

Actually, it was a two step move:

1. In RH HTML View, I've manually put the code within <pre>... </pre> tags (the blanks are also magically 'normalized'):

06_PRE.jpg

2. In the same RH HTML I've "colorized" the line I've needed highlighted by using <font colour=...>, as my character tag is overwritten by the <pre> tags: