• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Single sourcing question

New Here ,
Sep 28, 2015 Sep 28, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I am not a Robohelp expert, but I’m working on 3rd party online help that they created with Robohelp. I’m editing and adding to it using the experience that I have.

My question is about single sourcing. I received two help projects from them: One is “global” help, which is one big project that contains all the help files. The user clicks the help icon and gets a TOC and all the help is searchable. The other project is “page level” help, which is context-sensitive help where each topic is directly linked to each application page in the UI. These are entirely separate help systems that contain very similar content, sometimes identical. However, they do not share any files. In fact, the names of files with similar or the same content have different file names.

As you might imagine, maintenance is a chore with having to make the same edits to two set of files. I would like to share files between the help systems (with the 3rd party approval). I am trying to keep everything in one project and  perhaps use condition tags to include/exclude topics. I’m not clear though on how to proceed. Should building the project with the separate conditions produce a project that only uses the files that are included?  I am using Robohelp HTML versions 11 on Windows 7.  Thanks.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there

Indeed this is a perfect use of conditional build tags. I might suggest an experiment for you.

Make a backup copy of each project for our dear friend Justin. (Justin Case).

Now create a folder for the CSH topics.

Create another folder for the other topics.