• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Illustrative Editorial rejections - looking for some clarity

Community Beginner ,
Jan 12, 2021 Jan 12, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello.  This is my first time posting to a forum so be bear with me please.  I've been able to submit Illustrative Editorial images to Adobe, and while I'm happy most are accepted and getting downloads, I'm a bit confused by the ones rejected as they are similar in subject matter and photographic style to ones that have been accepted. I'm not here to complain, just get a better understanding of it all.

I primarily submit toys/action figures of pop culture characters, mostly recreating scenes from movies or comics (Star Wars, Sci-fi, superheros, horror characters, etc etc). While the accepted images are of 'faceless' figures such as Darth Vader or Spiderman or Jason Voorhees (hockey mask) or other characters such as the Hulk, I've noticed that the action figures with a 'humanoid' face get rejected for "Illustrative Editorial Issue" almost every time.

Some of these action figures are of fictional or cartoon characters that do not exist in real life so this is where I am a bit confused by the rejection, as there are no actual people in any of my editorial images.

I believe I'm following the guidelines:

• The file includes identifiable people. (these are toys/action figures not actual people - information which I include in my captions stating the character and manufacturer of the figure)
  • The file is news or documentary editorial. (this is not documentary editorial, they are all desktop setups)
  • The file did not have a strong editorial concept. (I'm recreating scenes from pop culture - movies or television or comics and not just submitting toys isolated on a white background and the character are still culturally relevant)