• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why does Adobe think these two images of different owls are similar?

Community Beginner ,
Nov 20, 2017 Nov 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Adobe Stock and have been adding a few images recently - I have had a few rejected where I had some (deliberate) out of focus areas or had post processed to B&W or applied other artistic effects - that's fine and understand if Adobe Stock doesn't want those (other stock sites are happy to accept them). But the one that I find odd is that I had an image of an owl accepted but then another image of a totally different owl rejected saying it was too similar to the first! I even resubmitted in case it was done in error and it got rejected again.

Here is the one that was accepted:

100022.jpg

And the one that was rejected as being too similar:

100023.jpg

Can anyone offer any explanation other than it is not a human doing the comparison but some sort of machine learning that only takes into account a few simple parameters... It's not a big deal (and again other stock sites were happy with both) but very curious how Adobe handle this.

Thanks

TOPICS
Contributor critique

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

New Here , Nov 22, 2017 Nov 22, 2017

1. (Similar Files Already Submitted)

Here’s what this means:

“Similar Images” include ALL Images in Adobe Stock's ENTIRE Catalog NOT just your catalog).

... quality is better than quantity ... choose images that offer something UNIQUE to the buyer ... .

My opinion is that your second image (the rejected one) is typical (very common pose of owl pics) but your first one that was accepted is unique.