Licence clarification please

Explorer ,
Jan 08, 2020 Jan 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, and thanks for any help in advance.

I am wondering if anyone can clarify what a 'standard' licence means in this context...

I am a graphic designer creating publications for all sorts of clients. I then pass over the print ready PDF files or the web banner - you know the stuff - and... well... does that mean that my client doesn't have the licence?

In other words, every image I buy I only buy for my own usage. Does this mean that the client has no licence?

I was speaking with a competitor library who said that all images I use in publications I'm essentially 'selling' so they need 'enhanced' licences?
Can anyone clarify please?

Thanks

TOPICS
Licensing

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Community Professional ,
Jan 08, 2020 Jan 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You are the man in the middle. Each time you do a job and buy a license for and on behalf of a client, you need to acquire the license the client (end user) needs. You can transform and work with the licensed assets, but only on behalf of that client. Your client needs to agree to the license terms. If you want to hide your source, what is a legit business action, you need to use own license terms which are at least as limitating as Adobe's.

If you need the same asset for a different client or even for your own need, you need to relicense. You cannot "recycle" an asset for cutomer 1 to use with customer 2. This demands some organization like keeping track of what assets you use for what client.

I was speaking with a competitor library who said that all images I use in publications I'm essentially 'selling' so they need 'enhanced' licences?