• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Standard licence question for book- expiry, irregular use

New Here ,
Jan 15, 2023 Jan 15, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I make a few books for various purposes - simple print on demand stuff. I'm a writer with no talent for drawing so I need illustrations. So if I purchase a Standard Licence I can download but...

1. Does the licence expire? (I distrust this nonsense term 'assets') If I reprint the book in a couple of years, do I have to repurchase the images (assume that there may be minor changes to the text and Blurb, for instance, treats it as a new book). The implication is that I only have a licence to use, not any form of ownership.

2. I'm unlikely to need even 120 images per year. But some months I might want twenty-five images and the next month - two! Can I roll over unused credits to the following month? 

TOPICS
Licensing

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jan 16, 2023 Jan 16, 2023

1. Licences do not expire. “Asset” is a term for the item licenced and may be a photo, illustration, video, template or whatever. All is called “asset”.

Items are licensed for a client (you are the client), so, even if you use the same asset for anything else, that fits in with the licensing terms, you are still covered. However, with a standard licence, you would need to buy an extended licence if you want to do a t-shirt or a mug. Or you would need an extended licence, if your print run (dig

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Jan 16, 2023 Jan 16, 2023

First, I'm not Adobe, I'm a user like you. My assumptions above are correct, however.