• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Substance Designer Behaving Strangely?

New Here ,
Nov 24, 2021 Nov 24, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there, I'm new to SD/SP and, like a good little learner, tackled the "Getting to Know Substance Designer" tutorial series. First, the series is outdated, I think the guy is using Substance 2018 but that shouldn't be much of an issue. Next, I working on a Mac (i9, 64GB, Radeon Pro Vega 48 8GB, SSD, Monterey 12.0.1) and literally just went through the process of wiping my drive and starting back from a clean install of the OS and reinstall of the apps I work with, including the Substance Suite (Designer, Painter, Sampler, Stager).

Issue: Following along with the tutorial I get to a point where it's time to eat. So I "Save All" on the .sbs project file and go grab dinner. I come back and in the 3D view, my texture that was displaying all the nooks and crannies of the texture, is now flat. I think, "Oh, memory cache is getting full, reboot my machine and everything will go back to what it was." Right? Nope. 

I reboot my machine, restart Designer, click to open the file I had been working on. The app window opens up in this tiny little square in the top left corner. I stretch it out to fill my screen, reorganize my nodes, change the default cube to a hi-rez plane and right-click to "View in 3D Viewer". Flat. 

I have not changed any of the settings for the texture I was creating other than to disconnect the "twig" created. I tried both the Open-GL and IRay renderer, still flat. The 2D viewer shows all the height data but this is not translating to the 3D view. I've read a few posts here and followed what was advised (Close the 3D Viewer>Click Empty Space in Graph>Select View in 3D Viewer), no luck. [See attached screenshots to see what I mean]

The texture I'm making is to be imported into Houdini 18.5 and/or 19.0 to be utilized on a terrain I'm working on. 

TOPICS
3D View , Bugs & Crashes , How to