• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Problems with UVs misaligning between Painter and Blender (UDIM workflow)

New Here ,
Sep 25, 2022 Sep 25, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

I'm new to Substance Painter and I am having an issue where my UVs are changing between Painter and Blender - it appears Painter is changing them but I can't see where or why.

I unwrapped my model in Blender using a UDIM workflow, and then exported that as an fbx. In Painter the mesh appears correctly and is texturing fine. 

f0b42c63a84b04dd20f57937274847c558ccacd9_2_690x401.jpeg57f683b2fc40b3f09d8d7db73b04627ad6f35f44_2_690x421.jpeg

But it appears to have changed the UV map, because when I export those textures (or even the mesh itself) and open them in Blender, they no longer align:

935de637b9590f6e3c2581cbc5a481f9850fc246_2_690x409.jpegb3cbc3c0eab3daea1ba5786f971f81805aea9a7e_2_574x500.jpeg

Should I be importing / exporting the mesh differently to preserve UV maps? Should I be using .obj instead of fbx and if so how can I change this without losing the work I've done? Or is there a way to export the new maps that I could then update my mesh with? (noting that when I export mesh from Painter it seems to keep the original UV maps and so is still misaligned.)

Please help! I've been trying to figure this out for a week now and I am completely lost.

TOPICS
Automatic UV unwrapping , Import & Export , UV Tiles

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 26, 2022 Sep 26, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When you import to Substance Painter, ensure 'Auto-Unwrap' is unchecked. Also if using UDIMs ensure 'Use UV Tile Workflow' is checked. Both are in New Project settings