Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Trouble getting garment from substance painter to Unreal Engine

New Here ,
Oct 15, 2022 Oct 15, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm new to substance painter, so I'm not sure if this can be done. Basically, I have an outfit for my character inside of substance painter and I want to export the whole thing (mesh and textures) into unreal engine. 

To give some context, I have designed this outfit in Marvelous Designer, but when I import the outfit into unreal engine, the textures look very low resolution and plasticy. I can drop a substance material asset onto the outfit, and it looks great, but it applies the same material to the whole outfit and I want seperate cloth materials for each garment. 

There is probably some way to import the outfit into unreal engine as seperate meshes for each garment, but I have posted for help in the Unreal and Marvelous Designer forms and haven't found the solution yet.

However, I can import the outfit into substance painter and assign seperate materials to each garment. 

My only problem now is, I can't find any explanation on how to get this entire garment out of substance painter and into Unreal Engine. I can export the textures, but there are separate material maps for each piece of the outfit, and I'm still stuck with a single mesh for the whole outfit, so I'm not sure how to make that work.

For now, all I need is to get the finished outfit into Unreal as a static mesh, though in the near future I want to be able to import the garment into unreal with both the high quality substance materials and the Marvelous Designer prebaked cloth simulation.

TOPICS
Import & Export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Oct 15, 2022 Oct 15, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied