• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I keep a glass object transparent on export?

Community Beginner ,
Feb 12, 2022 Feb 12, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am trying to export an image with a glass lens. I only need the image, not the background.

In Stager, my background is white. When I export it to Photoshop, I can remove the white background layer, but the glass portion is no longer transparent. It still shows the white background through the glass.

Is there a way to keep the true transparency of glass in the rendered image?

Thank you.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Feb 13, 2022 Feb 13, 2022

Thank you. I tried it with the black background and it ended up working without needing to modify when I imported to Photoshop.

I see now that I was previously missing the opacity setting for glass in Stager.  The default opacity is 1 for the glass. I typically work with ray tracing off. With it off, when I test the look with any background, the glass appears transparent. That's how I thought it would render, but it was always opaque instead. I never previewed the image with ray tracing on. With

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Feb 12, 2022 Feb 12, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied