• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to run Adobe Software on Linux

New Here ,
Aug 29, 2018 Aug 29, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey guys, sorry to bother you. I am switching to Linux basically due to Software development limitation on Windows. Apart from a developer, I am also a Designer. I would like to take Illustrator and Adobe xD along with me, but it appears short of running VMs there is no other solution.

So, my Question is: How to create a VM on Ubuntu 18.04, and have it run an OS that supports Adobe. Just an article that is sufficient to a Linux beginner would be fine.

Suggestion: Truth is, I decided to start switching to Figma for Web Design and their Online Tool in the Browser since Figma is on the cloud. IMHO, and don't get offended but Figma is more feature rich than Xd. That being said still Xd interactions are much more fluid for some weird reason. So my suggestion is to make all your apps Browser based.

Thanks for your time.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 17, 2022 Jun 17, 2022

I don't understand why it is such a problem to make Adobe sofware also for Linux.

By @vsemecky

See the reply by Dov Isaacs, former Adobe Principal Scientist (April 30, 1990 - May 30, 2021) here:

https://community.adobe.com/t5/the-lounge-discussions/waiting-for-linux-native-softwares-cloud-on-linux-will-not-happen/td-p/10943296

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

dimitrise18775767  wrote

So, my Question is: How to create a VM on Ubuntu 18.04, and have it run an OS that supports Adobe.

I would suggest to ask this question an Ubuntu guru! Your option of OS will be quite limited to Windows as MacOS needs Apple hardware...