• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I am new to art programs need a 2D tool to add a border to a nonstandard object. I also need to create and modify bitmaps

New Here ,
Mar 22, 2019 Mar 22, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I am really new to art programs.   I typically only use paint.   I am trying to modify a leather pattern to use a laser cutter to draw images on leather.   I would like to add a border or an image to this pattern.   Preferably a Celtic design but open to other options.    I am hoping photoshop can do all this.  If not what do I need?  

Regards

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 22, 2019 Mar 22, 2019

Drawing line illustrations, whether images or borders,is best done in Adobe Illiustrator. It produces a crisp vector result that can be changed in size without affecting the quality of the art. If, on the other hand, you want to create a toned image, Photoshop would be best.

One more thing: If you are able to create the illusion of tones by using a parallel line or dot pattern in your illustration (the way it was done before halftones were invented)  then stick with Illustrator

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Mar 22, 2019 Mar 22, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Drawing line illustrations, whether images or borders,is best done in Adobe Illiustrator. It produces a crisp vector result that can be changed in size without affecting the quality of the art. If, on the other hand, you want to create a toned image, Photoshop would be best.