• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why did Adobe go with Bootstrap not Foundation?

Engaged ,
Feb 24, 2016 Feb 24, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have found Foundation 6 in my research on using sass. If Adobe had did any research it seems to me I would think that they would have had their eye on adding preprocessors and Scss functionality. One would then assume that Foundation would be the smart choice. After finding Foundation it kinda makes me mad that I spent all this time trying to figure an overcomplicated totally bloated framework that is supported by Adobe. I mean I trusted them to guide me in the right direction of what the real Dev community is using. Obviously I am just learning all this but after learning just enough to be dangerous but not enough to do anything with it I find it hard to believe that Adobe wouldn't have a few more options for frameworks. DW is really aimed at beginners no? Why use the most complicated framework or not have an option for an easier one to start with and then also have a Bootstrap option!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Feb 24, 2016 Feb 24, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

John, I did a lot of research prior to starting to use a frontend framework and my conclusion at the time was that Foundation was the better choice. Foundation was mobile first and used Sass as its source.

Shortly after I started using Foundation, Bootstrap came with version 3 which is mobile first and I realised that the greater part of the programming community supported Bootstrap.. Because of that, support for Bootstrap is greater which in turn makes it an ideal framework for those starting out in the world of web development.