• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Accents: Phonetic Symbol Special Character: ā, Ā

Explorer ,
Jan 10, 2011 Jan 10, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a book designer and we are doing a book with a lot of weird and special character's. I am very familiar with accents and different marks on letters, like these (é, î, å á etc.). However, I cannot get this one to work. We are using the font: Bembo for the entire document and I need the:
ā
Ā
Currently I have it "rigged" in the sentences using leading and kerning, but this will be a nightmare for ebooks etc. The glyph seems like it doesn't exist for this character and font.
Can somebody help with a suggestion?
Thanks, T—

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Jan 10, 2011 Jan 10, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm going to assume that you're using Bembo Std. If that's the case, then you're correct in thinking that the ā Ā characters do not exist in the font. These particular characters are only supported in font families with the suffix Pro, such as Minion Pro.

To solve the problem you may have to use a similar or different design that supports the needed characters (e.g. Aldine 401 from Paratype), or, assuming that the font was licensed directly from Adobe, modify the font file to add the needed characters.

Hope this helps.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Mentor ,
Jan 13, 2011 Jan 13, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Miguel_Sousa wrote:

Hi,