Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Font usage and licencing

New Here ,
Aug 20, 2017 Aug 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm completely new to all this and have been getting a bit confused. Basically I want to understand what I can and can't use for client work e.g logos/leaflets etc. I have just bought the adobe cloud for individual and will mainly be using Photoshop and Illustrator. 

Are all the fonts that came with Photoshop/Illustrator when I signed up the the Creative Cloud free to be used for 'Print and Preview Embedding'?

I have looked at the 'Understanding Font Permissions' and the 'Font Permissions Table' but have noticed for example that a font that appears in Photoshop/Illustrator isn't listed (Zapfino) so how do I know how fonts like this can be used?

Also, I wanted to use the font 'American Typewriter' in a logo for a client.  The idea being to produce a design that can be used on signs and other promotional printed items. It appears as a 1 under the 'Font Permissions Table', have I understood this right that I can do this as long as the design file I give to the client is not editable in terms of the font/giving them the font file e.g Jpeg, PDF etc?

Thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

The list you are referring to is only with regards to fonts that were installed with Adobe products or that you have licensed directly from Adobe. It does not refer to fonts that appear in the list of fonts available when you use an application program, in this case Illustrator or Photoshop. The application programs list all fonts currently installed on the system, not fonts installed by that particular application. Unless you licensed American Typewriter directly from Adobe, you need to contact

Votes

Translate

Translate