• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to convince a designer the font is too light

New Here ,
Aug 29, 2012 Aug 29, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm not a designer. I dabble, but I have no formal training.

My background is User Experience and User Interface.

A designer has created templates to be used for PDFs. The font is not only light, but the designer has chosen to use a color value that is significantly towards the center of the black/white gradient.

As a result, when I try to read the PDFs that are produced, I have difficulty. I've asked around to other users in my company and they have also complained about the light, gray font.

Unfortunately, the designer is backed up by the brand manager, who claims that the font and color value represents our brand.

If our brand is all about being difficult to use, I would agree, but I need to make the argument that having a document users can read is more important than reflecting a brand.

I'm hoping someone can point me in the direction of some articles or discussions of this issue.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,
Aug 29, 2012 Aug 29, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm afraid I don't have any articles, but my knee-jerk reaction would be to recruit those other users and, henceforth, send all company e-mails or memos, or whatever in that same hard to read font/color combination -- especially for any messages going UP the chain of command. After all, if it's good enough for the PDFs, it must be good enough for everything. As that middle management pogue insisted; it represents The Brand!

I've used such tactics successfully before.

Good Luck

--OB

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines