Need Help: Silly Questions

New Here ,
May 09, 2010 May 09, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am completely ignorant of the topic and appreciate any advice I can get.  Sorry for silly questions in advance.  I am not a designer.

Once in a while, I get Microsoft Word documents with fonts that don't come with MS Office (Windows).  For example, a get AGaramond-Pro and MyriadPro.  One of them is part of Adobe's "Standard Install Set 1" and the other part of "Standard Install Set 2."  I don't have these on my machine (or at least in Word).  In these documents, the fonts are shown as they were created (such as "AGaramondPro-Regular") but I think what I see on the screen is not the same font but some kind of substitution (some TTF).  Needless to say, when I try to edit and send the document back, it all looks different.

1. I guess I need to get these fonts, but maybe they are already on my computer or can be taken from some other application (such as simple Adobe Acrobat).  I think these are not true type fonts, which might be the reason for my problem. I am also concerned that if I do manage to install or activate these fonts, there would be problems if I send the document to somebody like me, who would not see them on the screen the same way or be able to print them the same way.  (I can send a PDF with the fonts embedded, but even this is problematic since the "Embed OpenTypes fonts" option in Adobe Acrobat is gray and does not allow me to put a checkmark there.  Maybe it means they are embedded automatically, or maybe it means it cannot be done.)