• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Symbol Fonts work in PS but not OT

Explorer ,
Jan 15, 2011 Jan 15, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been working with Adobe Font Folio (OpenType) for 4 or 5 years now, after having a Linotype library of PostScript faces which I used for at least a dozen years. My concern now is that every time I want to use a symbol font such as Carta or Sonata or even ITC Zapf Dingbats, I end up having to revert back to my PS fonts as the characters don't work with the Adobe OpenType fonts. This is a problem in all the programs I use (Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator, etc.), not just one. I also use Extensis Suitcase Fusion (now at version 3, but same issue with previous versions). Any thoughts on what I may be doing wrong, or reasons for this deficit with the OpenType fonts? Thank you!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Jan 15, 2011 Jan 15, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First, let's clear up the terminology. By PS fonts, I assume you mean Type 1 fonts. In reality, not only are Type 1 fonts PostScript fonts, but so are TrueType and OpenType fonts. All are supported by Adobe PostScript.