• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Does anybody genuinely use cloud fonts or Typekit in their workflow? They've never worked for me.

New Here ,
Jun 01, 2020 Jun 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is not intended to be a flaming thread, but I am frustrated, and I'd like to get an impression on whether this is a shared problem, or it's just me.

I currently work across three seperate Adobe licenses in different capacities, and several machines. I'm still relatively new in media, but in seven years and two full-time positions, I've never been able to implement Adobe fonts into a legitimate project, either through the Typekit website or from inside Adobe apps.

Font-matching failures and sync hanging are simply standard and accepted behaviour. This understanding is shared between me and the colleagues I work with.

Occasionally I forget, and successfully choose a cloud font through the font-dropdown in Photoshop or Illustrator, but it never successfully re-syncs the next time I authorise my machine. If a font is included in my Adobe license, I typically find it through Google Fonts or pirate it for local installation. It never crosses my mind that Typekit is a legitimate option.

But after downloading Open Sans for the umpteenth time, it's occured to me that this is pretty silly. The fonts troubleshooting steps are a few lines long and consist of the usual firewall checks and reinstallation. And any search through Google or the Support Community definitely gives the impression that this is a shared frustration.

Does anybody really use Adobe cloud fonts in their workflows as of June 2020? I'd really like to.

TOPICS
Missing font , Sync issue

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more