• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Graphics Card for editing 4k videos in Premiere Pro CS6

Community Beginner ,
Mar 17, 2018 Mar 17, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I'm new to editing 4k video footage. I use Premiere Pro CS6 and eventually will switch over to the CC version. Based on my setup do I just need to upgrade my graphics card to something like the GTX-1060 with 6Gig? Or a different card? Or will I need to overhaul my complete system?

FYI: Even on 1/16 quality after rendering footage with no effects I still have difficulty playing back 4k footage.

Footage: 4k MOV (from Canon 5D mkiv)

My setup:

Microsoft Windows 10 Pro

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz, 3901 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)

32 Gig physical RAM

32 Gig virtual RAM

Name AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series

2 Gig adapter RAM

110Gig SSD

1TB Hard drive

Model ST1000DM 003-9YN162 SCSI Disk Device

12TB External Hard drive for storage/backup, no editing from this drive

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In my opinion, now is a bad time to upgrade any individual components: Due to the current cryptocurrency mining craze, the PSU, RAM and especially the GPU now cost far more money than what they cost less than a year ago. At current US pricing, the GTX 1060 6GB now costs at least $400. That's over 50% higher than what it cost just 12 months ago!

In addition, although that GTX 1060 would have been "balanced" with your current CPU, it just isn't worth spending anywhere near that much money just to balance your system's performance, especially if your CPU is too weak to handle long-GOP 4k material from any DSLR.