Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Student laptop question

New Here ,
Jun 19, 2018 Jun 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm a media teacher in our school and one of our students has asked for my thoughts on a couple of laptops suitable for Premiere Pro (and some of the other CC software)

What do you think of his choices re Surface Book.

Thanks,

Matt

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jun 20, 2018 Jun 20, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I normally recommend the following:

1. 24" 1080 screen at minimum.

2. Five internal hard drives, arranged as...

System

Projects, audio, still images

Cache and Scratch

Camera media only

Exports

There is no Laptop in the world that can accommodate those minimums.  Recommend he build his own desktop.  He''ll have a much better experience.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

it really depends on what he wants to do. Ready & writing from the same HDD, even if it's an SSD is reducing performence greatly.

That being said, I've been playing with  the 16bg/512SSD Surface Book 2, and it's a good beast. For light / youtube like editing, this should be good enough. As Jim Simon​ stated above, for the same price he can built a more powerful, and more suited desktop computer.

If mobility is mandatory, then go for the 16gb with the nvidia 1050 gpu and 512. 8gb is going to be way too limitating.

Hope this helps,

Sébastien

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Mentor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied